Cool Weather Recipe That’s Great with Food Allergies

When you have food allergies, you spend a significant amount of time and energy altering recipes. Many of you know that I am crazy-intolerant of gluten. Cutting it out of my life changed everything for me health-wise.

There are some unexpected things you must substitute for when you have a gluten allergy. Here are five of the most common.

  1. Spices! I need to find spices that aren’t cut on equipment shared with wheat (McCormick is pretty reliable).
  2. Beer. GF people need alternatives for beer (I cook with cider quite often). The cooking beer I use is plain old Redbridge, because it’s the cheapest. When I drink beer, it’s usually Daura, Green’s or New Grist.
  3. Soy sauce. I use tamari sauce to replace soy sauce.
  4. Soups. Pacific Foods has the best creamy soups around because sometimes you just need Cream of Mushroom or Cream of Chicken Soup.
  5. Bread crumbs. I use a lot of gluten free flour and breadcrumbs for chicken, and the best fried chicken I’ve made is from Corn Flakes crumbs, which are now totally gluten free. This is a recent change in the last year, so be sure your Corn Flake boxes say gluten free. Ditto for Cheerios. There are still some non-GF boxes running around.

Sometimes I run across other wonderful souls who do most of my work for me. Those are beautiful moments. That was the case when this chili recipe gave me back one of my favorite dishes. (I can’t use our family recipe because a lot of the ingredients, like Campbell’s tomato soup, contain wheat.)

Fox In the Kitchen blog has this recipe for a kickass Gluten Free Chili Seasoning Mix:

  • 2 tsp cornstarch or other gluten free starch of choice
  • 1 tsp chili powder
  • 3/4 tsp ground cumin
  • 1/2 tsp herbamare or seasoning salt
  • 1/2 tsp crushed red chili pepper flakes
  • 1/2 tsp garlic powder (not garlic salt)
  • 1/2 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 1/4 tsp sugar

I also add Italian Seasoning to my chili spice mix. And I make such big batches that I always double the above so my chili still has a huge flavor kick.

Time saving tip: Make a bunch of individual batches and save them. They’ll keep in sealed bags or containers for a while.

spice-list

Instructions

  1. Place all seasoning mix ingredients in a bowl and throughly mix until very well combined. If preferred, you can use a mortar and pestle or spice grinder to grind and mix the spices.
  2. Each single batch makes about 2 tablespoons of Chili Seasoning Mix. Use one batch of seasoning per pound of ground meat. We prefer ground beef but ground turkey, or ground chicken also make really good Chili.

Preparation time: 5 minute(s)

spices-mixed

A double batch of spice.

This recipe is Gluten Free, Grain Free, Dairy Free and Egg Free. It can also be Vegetarian if you use extra beans to replace the meat.

What I do for meat

I adore meat in my chili so I usually take a pork shoulder roast or pork ribs, trim off any fat, and throw them into my pressure cooker with a bottle of cider, 3-4 chopped cloves of garlic and a sprig of rosemary. I cook it for 55 minutes on High Pressure.

roasted-pork

Here’s what pork shoulder looks like before shredding. Usually I use 1 pound per batch.

Making the Chili

  1. After shredding the cooked pork and removing the rosemary stem (leaving the spice), I pour the whole shebang into the chili pot.
  2. In a saucepan, sautee your onions and any other types of veggies you want to add. When in doubt, ALWAYS add more garlic. 🙂
  3. I brown some sausage and drain it while I’m on my meat craze, but you can leave this step out if you don’t want the extra calories. Add it to the “big pot.”
  4. In the chili pot, add one batch of Gluten Free Chili Seasoning Mix per one pound of cooked meat and as many beans as you want. I usually toss in 4-6 cans of various kinds.
  5. If you like chopped tomatoes, throw in a few cans of those.
  6. The recipe calls for one can of tomato sauce (14 oz) for each pound of meat. One day I didn’t have any and used spaghetti sauce and it was so much better. Now I just open the Prego, or some other gluten free marinara, and pour in a few cups. The amount comes down to a personal choice about how much you wish to sauce up your beans and meat. Some people use two cups, some people use four.
  7. Simmer uncovered for 20 to 30 minutes, or until mixture has thickened. Stir occasionally.
before-sauce

Before the sauce.

After the Prego.

After the Prego.

Serve warm, topped with a sprinkling of shredded cheddar cheese, chopped green onions and extra crushed red chili pepper flakes, if desired.

Personally, I love to add sour cream or a slice of American cheese. It’s great over fries or chips too, for those times you need some crunch.

Enjoy!

What is your favorite cold weather dish? Let’s trade some recipes in the comments section. We all have enquiring minds that want to know!

~ Jenny

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! An extrovert who's terribly fond of silliness. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestormblog.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in Holidays, Recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cool Weather Recipe That’s Great with Food Allergies

  1. K.B. Owen says:

    Yum! I don’t have a pressure cooker (though I hear they are awesome), but I’ll bet I could duplicate this without it. Thanks for the inspiration! Now that Christmas cookie-baking is upon us, here’s a GF cookie recipe I found that I now make all the time: Simpler Than Sin Peanut Butter Cookies.

    Ingredients:
    1 cup extra crunchy peanut butter
    1 cup sugar
    1 egg, at room temperature
    2 tsp vanilla
    6oz bar of dark or milk chocolate, broken into squares

    Directions:

    Preheat oven to 350 deg F
    In medium bowl, combine peanut butter, sugar, egg and vanilla; mix well.
    Roll dough into 1-inch balls, place 2 inches apart on ungreased cookie sheet.
    Bake 12 minutes, remove from oven and place a chocolate square in center of each cookie.
    Bake an additional 5-7 minutes, or until cookies are lightly golden around edges.
    Cool 5 minutes, then remove to wire rack to cool completely.

    Kind of crazy that there isn’t any flour or flour substitute, but somehow it works. Can’t post a picture here, but they taste soooo good!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      OMG, YUM!! That cookie sounds amazing. And my kid could do the square. 🙂 Win-win!!

      I think you could do that pork shoulder in a crock pot pretty easily. Pressure cookers are just faster is all. Enjoy! The spice mix is fabulous, whether you do the rest gluten free or not. I really think the cider/rosemary/garlic combo in the pork is what makes it too.

      Like

Show us your cowbell!

