The Beauty Product that Made Me Giggle

One of my Millennial pals raved to me about snail slime, which is apparently the latest beauty craze. And I started laughing my guts out, thinking she was completely full of media hype. Only this is a real trend, common in Asia, and the practice dates back to ancient Greece.

Shut the crazy front door.

I can’t quite wrap my brain around the idea that snail slime is a desired  commodity. I tried it over the weekend and it didn’t feel bad. It’s supposed to help build collagen so I ordered some on Amazon. You know I will be sharing the results with all of you!

The Hubs immediately asked the questions burning in any logical brain:

  • How do they get the slime?
  • Who “milks” these snails?
  • Do women actually put the snails on their face?

Apparently there are snail farms for escargot and about 30-40 years ago the workers discovered that their hands got softer. So now they’ve added slime-production to their list of duties. They poke the snails, wash and tickle their bottoms, and poke in with a swab to get all the slime.

And holy cowbell, as if that wasn’t creepy enough, Korean women do put multiple snails on their face. Like on purpose. For hours at the spa.

Note: Many of these same women swear by the 10-Step Korean Skincare Routine, so they’re already way more committed than I am. Washcloth exfoliation and moisturizer after the shower are much more my speed.

This snail business is right up there with the V-Steam for me. I’m struggling with the “why” women do this to their bodies. I mean aren’t we all gorgeous enough without steamers under our hoohahs and snail trails on our face?

If you still want to know more, here are 10 Fascinating Facts about Snail Slime.

What say you, my posse? Had you heard of this slimy beauty trend? Would you try it? Enquiring minds love to know these things here at More Cowbell!

~ Jenny

p.s. I’m in two places at once today! I’m over at Jami Gold’s place talking about the #1 Enemy of Writing Dreams.

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! An extrovert who's terribly fond of silliness. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestormblog.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in Health, Thoughty Thursday and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Beauty Product that Made Me Giggle

  1. I’m giggling, too, Jenny. As a Southern girl, I remember accidently stepping on slugs when I was little *shudders*. On my face, nope! You’re made of sterner stuff than I am even to try the sanitized version.

    I’m of the “I earned this face, thank you very much” school, though, so I’m not a good representative!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. K.B. Owen says:

    What say I? EWW.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      LOLOLOL. Kathy, I expected it to feel slimy, in which case I’d have been done. But it didn’t feel slimy at all, it just felt like a really good moisturizer. I’ll keep you posted on if it’s complete crapola, or if it works.

      However, if I had to put the actual snail on my face, we wouldn’t be having this conversation. That. Is. Vile.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Jami Gold says:

    I just recently got up the nerve to try escargot–a nice covered-in-cheese-so-you-can’t-really-tell-what-you’re-eating version–so this idea gives me the heebie-jeebies. LOL!

    And thank you so much for hanging out on my blog today! You’re awesome–just as you are (no snail slime needed).😀

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      I actually like butter, garlicky escargot that is made well, but snails in their natural form kind of creep me out. And I’m constantly fighting them in my garden.🙂

      I’m excited to be hanging out on your blog with you today. I’m about to head over and do some chatting!

      Like

  4. The Guat says:

    Dude. I am tripping off your snail slime story. On their face! These Korean chicks put that on their face! Dude I don’t think I’m into having softer skin if I have to put snails on my face. I’m all good with that, but it is interesting that these people now get all up in the snail’s business for some slime. Interesting job description I imagine. Can’t wait to hear how this pans out.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Did you watch that video? They not only put the snails on their face, they GO TO SLEEP. How is that possible, knowing something is inching across your face? Even curiosity wouldn’t be able to take me that far. But if they’ll sanitize it into a nifty cream or serum for me, I’ll try it. Trust me, the compounds and proteins snails produce are in most of our skin creams anyway.

      I will share the results here at the blog, I promise!

      Like

  5. yvettecarol says:

    No, I’d never heard of snail slime beauty treatment until today. You have educated me in the ways of the world, Jenny.🙂 And, all I can say is, how do I “un-learn” this bit of information? Brrr. Yuck, man!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Have I tried it? Girlfriend I am way ahead of you. Bought some on Amazon last year but it did nothing for me. Hope you have better results. I will try almost anything for beauty. Except that V-steam thingie. ugh!

    Liked by 1 person

  7. Jane Sadek says:

    You can keep your slime! I’m still trying to develop the habit of actually washing my face before I go to bed.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Um, I think I’ll skip the snail slime. I suppose I might try it once if I had all the money in the world and nothing better to do with my time, but for now, nope.

    As always, thanks for sharing though. I’ll keep this filed away in my beauty secrets folder for when I hit the lottery.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Liked by 1 person

  9. karenmcfarland says:

    I cannot even imagine having a snail crawl across my face, let alone leaving a snail trail behind as evidence. Yuck, just yuck. I get it though. Since this aging thing has hit me like a bomb, I’m all about using an anti-aging skin care product. But snail slime? Not so much. lol.🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Sue says:

    I would way rather have a snail on my face than to have to eat one. And a snail is better than a leech. But if I truly have a choice, I’ll go with Oil of Olay, thank you very much. But then again- what’s that made of?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      You hit it exactly, Sue, I’d rather have Almay. However, if you click any of the links – the same proteins snails produce are what is in most OTC products, only less and they are man-made. I’m a woman over 40 – I’ll try them all!🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Show us your cowbell!

