Make a Difference: “Choose This Day”

This week, we’re switching our More Cowbell Monday with our Thoughty Thursday. I know, I know…I’ve got an Undie Chronicle on deck and today is the day to LAUGH. What about if we laughed about just being alive?

Kathryn Craft’s post at Writers In The Storm today got me thinking, and I’ll bet it does the same for you.

depression, Kathryn Craft

Her latest novel, The Far End of Happy, is based on her first husband’s suicide standoff.

As Kathryn said:

On the day my husband chose death over life, “choose this day” became my mantra. Each day, no matter how sad or horrified or frustrated I felt, I chose life—and with this simple daily act, my sense of empowerment grew.

Read her post about coping when “stormy seas threaten to sink your spirit” and about her May 1st Twitter campaign to #ChooseThisDay: Making a Difference in the World.

TryTodayThe campaign is simple:

Starting May 1st, and throughout the month, tweet an empowering positive message or quote (like this one!) using the #choosethisday hashtag.

What do you think? Are you in?

~Jenny

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! An extrovert who's terribly fond of silliness. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestormblog.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in Inspiration and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

25 Responses to Make a Difference: “Choose This Day”

  1. Dawn says:

    Count me in!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Hey, Dawn! Great to see you here at More Cowbell!!

      I’ve decided to answer each of the comments on this post with a quote, so there is a place to grab them from when the time comes.🙂

      “Always do your best. What you plant now, you will harvest later.” – Og Mandino

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Sounds good. I’ll do it too.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Rockstar, Phil!! And here is a quote about achieving goals that reminds me of you:

      “What you get by achieving your goals is not as important as what you become by achieving your goals.” – Henry David Thoreau

      Liked by 2 people

  3. yvettecarol says:

    Sounds good. I’m in!

    Liked by 2 people

  4. Well I’m definitely in – if I remember. (Note to self – make a note to self to remember that thing.)

    I love this idea.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Thanks, Patricia! And here is my quote for you.🙂

      “Writing means sharing. It’s part of the human condition to want to share things – thoughts, ideas, opinions.” – Paulo Coelho

      Liked by 2 people

  5. Thanks for spreading the word, Jenny, and to all those who join in due to this post! #choosethisday

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Thanks for popping in for a visit, Kathryn!

      Here’s the quote that brought you to my mind: “Good actions give strength to ourselves and inspire good actions in others.” – Plato

      Liked by 2 people

  6. I’m in! I’m all about positive messages.

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Thanks, Deb! And here’s a great quote for you, since you are “B” in my life.🙂

      “See every situation as a BLOT i.e. everything that comes your way is either a Blessing, Lesson, Opportunity, or a Test.” ~ Henry Agbebire

      Liked by 2 people

  7. amyskennedy says:

    Aw, Jenny, thank you and Kathryn is a superheroine. What an affirming campaign, this is absolutely something I can do!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Thanks, Amy! And you know I love to see your smiling face here at More Cowbell!

      Your quote, based on this comment:

      “Coming together is a beginning; keeping together is progress; working together is success.” – Henry Ford

      Liked by 1 person

  8. mliddle says:

    What a fantastic and positive idea! You can count me in! I’ll have to put it on my calendar on my phone or I’ll forget.
    Here is a free one:
    When you feel like quitting, that’s the time to put things into high gear. Otherwise, you’ll always be on this side of the hill & will not make it over this hump.

    This message is from me thinking about Kristen Lamb’s posts about The Dip, which basically means that there will always be a time when we feel like we’re not moving before we start going again – for example, our running is not getting any faster (not to say I’m doing any running). We need to keep going. The Dip weeds out those who are committed. So, if I really want to improve my running time, then I need to keep at it and eventually I’ll be out of The Dip. (Well, that particular Dip. There’s fast running &then a Dip, fast running & another Dip, etc.)

    Anywaaays … your post and Kristen Lamb’s post go together today. Oh, and Kristen was inspired to discuss The Dip by reading Seth Goden. So, today, you, Kathryn Craft, Kristen Lamb, Seth Goden, & me all fit together nicely – and all the other people who read your post & Kristen ‘ s post. That’s a lot of togetherness! 😆

    Thanks Jenny for telling us about #choosethisday. It’s brilliant and it will help us all to go over the hump or get out of the Dip!
    – Monique

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      I love it! It always surprises me how much “brain share” happens with the WANAs. Here’s to “surviving The Dip.”

      Your quote, my dear:
      “Perseverance is failing 19 times and succeeding the 20th.” -Julie Andrews

      Liked by 2 people

  9. bluelesley says:

    Count me in on May 1st…..I #choosethisday every day though some days are more difficult than others….

    Liked by 3 people

  10. Love this! I’m in!🙂🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Friends are what make the world go round!

      “It seems to me that trying to live without friends is like milking a bear to get cream for your morning coffee. It is a whole lot of trouble, and then not worth much after you get it.” – Zora Neale Hurston

      Liked by 1 person

  11. Elise Manion says:

    Setting my calendar/reminder now! Love this idea🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Thanks, Elise!

      Here’s my fave writing quote this week:
      “You must stay drunk on writing so reality cannot destroy you.” – Ray Bradbury

      I loved me some Ray Bradbury. He was the nicest man.

      Liked by 2 people

  12. Jenny I just read back through all these—loved the responses, loved your quotes, loved the energy you are throwing behind this! On behalf of all those who are hurting and in need of lifting up, thank you!

    Liked by 2 people

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Awwwww, thanks Kathryn! I’ll likely put up a reminder with a few of my next posts so people remember.🙂 If nothing else, they can grab a quote from the comments here.

      Like

  13. Pingback: The Almost X-Rated Garage Sale (Part 2) | Jenny Hansen's Blog

Comments are closed.