Father’s Day Speech by My Husband

Father's Day

There’s the “best daddy ever”…

It is a rare thing for you all to hear from the Hubs here at More Cowbell, but he gave this speech in church and I’m so proud of him, I had to share it!

*  *  *  *  *  *

On my journey to becoming a Father I have seen many miracles.

As you know, Jenny has a blood clotting disorder, which we found out about in 2005 when she got blood clots in both legs. The blood clot in her right leg shattered and sent many blood clots to her lungs.

Miracle #1: 1% of the people who experience what she did live through it.

Experiencing this miracle moved us to get closer to God and find a church that we could believe in. Our church and friends become our support group during our baby making journey – and make no mistake, it was a journey. Because of Jennifer’s blood clotting disorder, we had to go to a high-risk OB just to get permission to TRY and get pregnant.

In order to assist our baby making efforts many of our friends did a “laying on of hands” to both Jennifer and I and did some serious praying for us.

Fast forward a year and a half.

We were told that Jen was in early Menopause and we would have to give up our baby dreams. During that appointment, the fertility doctor reached across the table and took Jennifer’s hand and said:

“If it were me – and this is only my personal opinion – I would not have a baby in your body. It will be too hard and too dangerous and I simply would not do it.”

At that point, we were all crying, including the doctor. We gave up our plans of having a baby and began planning our life without children.

Miracle #2: Four months later we got pregnant on our own.

As excited as we were, a new chapter of worry started. Because pregnancy puts a woman’s body in a hyper coagulant state, Jennifer had to give herself daily shots in the stomach through the entire pregnancy. They went up to twice a day for the last two trimesters.

As I told her: “I’ll go to every appointment. I’ll rub your feet and your back. I’ll even squeeze you into those crazy compression hose. But I CAN’T stick a needle into a pregnant woman’s belly. I just can’t.”

I did keep her company. And I cringed.

Due to Jen’s “Advanced Maternal Age” (she was forty) we had to do lots of genetic testing. Due to her clotting disorder, she was susceptible to 2nd and 3rd trimester miscarriages. We didn’t really take an easy breath until 32 weeks into the pregnancy.

Miracle #3: After 42 weeks of pregnancy, we had a perfectly normal baby girl.

Our daughter’s name means “God’s Gracious Gift” and we definitely feel that way. Because I had been so focused on Jen’s survival, I was not prepared for the spontaneous outpouring of emotion that occurred when my daughter took her first breath. In the delivery room, as the baby cried, the emotions of a healthy baby and a healthy wife took over and I bawled with joy and relief.

People often ask ‘How has fatherhood changed your life?’

My first response is to say that I look at life differently now. I watched my daughter develop from a tiny group of cells with a beating heart on our ultrasounds, to the little person that she is becoming. I can only say that it is truly a miracle.

The way she learns and perceives her new world at each stage has been fascinating. And it all happens so fast.

I mean, in corporate America, we can barely get a project off the ground in nine months. In that same amount of time, I watched my wife conceive a life, build a placenta and grow a baby. I am completely in awe.

On a personal note, because I’m pretty shy overall, parenting has opened up an entirely new social realm for me.

When I used to walk around the neighborhood by myself, no one really stopped to talk to me. Now when I walk around the block with my daughter, all the neighbors come out and say hi and ask about her. EVERYONE talks to you when you have a baby.

It has allowed me to be much more connected with my neighborhood and also with the church. I am so very thankful for all the love and support that our community has shown our family.

I am happy our baby girl chose us to be her parents. With God’s help, I look forward to providing her with the love, security and tools for her to be a happy and compassionate human being.

Yes, I have seen many miracles on my journey to becoming a Father. Because of those miracles, I have greater faith that there will be plenty more miracles to come.

*  *  *  *  *  *

Go, Hubby! I can assure y’all that he’s the best daddy EVER. What miracles have you seen parenting? Who is the best father you know? Enquiring minds always want to know these things here at More Cowbell!

~Jenny

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! An extrovert who's terribly fond of silliness. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestormblog.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Parenting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Father’s Day Speech by My Husband

  1. *wiping eyes* This is wonderful and moving–I’m so happy for all THREE of you!

    Like

  2. Beautiful testimony. Prayers and blessings as your family continues on your joy-filled journey together.🙂

    Like

  3. Jenny: This was such a beautiful tribute not only to you, but to all fathers who have struggled and supported their wives in the hardships of life. It’s also a testimony to God’s power and our reliance on Him. You are blessed to have a hubby who is so open and supportive…and loving.

    Like

  4. Sent From Alicia says:

    That’s a beautiful and heart felt speech.. I’m sorry I missed it.. And just know you have a GREAT man for a husband and father for your baby girl. Love u BIG..

    Like

  5. I love this! Thank you so much for sharing.

    Like

  6. ericjbaker says:

    Your hubby sounds like a keeper. Although the tiara makes me question the whole “shy” thing. Wear it to work and see what kind of attention he gets!

    Like

  7. tomwisk says:

    Jenny you hit the Father Lode. Happy day to all three of you.

    Like

  8. Sue says:

    Love this- Bravo to your hubby for sharing his journey with your church community. Public sharing of personal growth seems to be harder for men than women, so extra kudos to him. Was stunned to read about your blood clot disorder – my sister in law died 3 months ago from a pulmonary embolism. Such a shock to our family and hers. I’m glad you are okay!!

    My own father turned 83 this year. He is the model I used to pick my own fantastic hubby and father of my children, only I didn’t know it then. Funny- my dad and hubby would totally wear a tiara too- especially for the little girls (now all big girls) in their lives. I am so blessed to have them both. I hope my daughter chooses as well, and that my son can follow in their footsteps.

    Blessings to you and your family- thank you for sharing this tender and inspiring piece of your life.

    Like

  9. Sharla Rae says:

    What a great blog. Blessings on all three of you.🙂

    Like

  10. Wonderful post for your guy on Fathers Day! You went through so much to have a baby and sounds like it was all worth it!

    Like

  11. John Holton says:

    Beautiful story. A belated Happy Fathers’ Day to him!

    Like

  12. Laura Drake says:

    You are the luckiest girl on the planet to have found him, and you know this isn’t the first I’ve said that. It’s not very often you find a couple who make such a great team. His strengths are your weaknesses, and vice versa. Bean is a very lucky kid to have such amazing parents. She’s going to grow up to be extraordinary…mark my words.

    Like

  13. Jane Sadek says:

    Add great husband to your list of blessings!

    Like

  14. Jim (Pop) Hansen says:

    Terrific speech by Steve, I hope we will hear more from him here on Cowbell in the future.

    Like

  15. taristhread says:

    What a lovely testimony on fatherhood and marriage. Thank you for sharing!

    Like

  16. K.B. Owen says:

    Absolutely beautiful. Way to go, hubby! He’s a keeper, Jenny!

    Hugs.

    Like

  17. I love this. Very heartwarming with a positive message about never giving up on your dreams. I’m so glad you were able to receive your little bundle of joy despite all of the obstacles standing in your way. You so deserve to be parents. (My husband has the clotting disorder, too. It’s not fun.)

    And I love that he calls you Jennifer. That is sweet.

    Happy father’s day to your “shy” hubby.

    Patricia Rickrode
    w/a Jansen Schmidt

    Like

  18. Oh, Jenny! Major goosebumps happening over here. What an incredibly sweet speech! WOW! He is such a keeper! A wonderful Daddy and Husband – it’s a win-win. 🙂

    Like

  19. Julie Glover says:

    So I’m tearing up now in Starbucks. Beautiful. Just beautiful.

    I had four weeks of bedrest in a hospital awaiting my preemie baby boy, and 27 of those 28 days, someone from my church visited me. That doesn’t count the phone calls, cards, supplies, childcare for my older son, and other support we received from friends and family. I was worried for my son during that time, but I was also so blessed by the outpouring of love around me. And yeah, one premature birth, six months with a heart monitor, and fourteen years later, that kid is healthy and growing into a man.

    Like

  20. Snifff….beautiful!!!!!

    Like

Comments are closed.