The Word of the Week is ‘Wood’

Photo by Cole Vassiliou ~ WANA Commons

Photo by Cole Vassiliou ~ WANA Commons

Things have been quiet here at More Cowbell because the family’s been traveling.

We’ve been in the wilds and not-so-wilds of Missouri again and, as usual, the ‘Show Me State’ provides tons of laughs in out-of-the-way places.

The last time we went, it was the gang-banging chickens and the dirty-minded signage. This time, the word of the day was “WOOD.”

This will begin to make sense when I tell you that hubby and I have taken turns being sick as three dogs on this trip. I went first due to my brother’s psychotic kittens.

Did I mention I’m allergic to cats? Especially when they spread their dander at lightning speed and like to race across my face while I sleep? Yeah. I had a sinus and ear infection by the time we left our first stop.

So I’m sleeping the sleep of the highly medicated while Hubby drives to the next stop when all of a sudden the car makes a swervy/brake(y) kind of motion that brings me out of my stupor.

Me: Wha–? *sits up* What was that?

Hubs: That guy with the wood is driving me crazy! He’s been up my a$$ for about ten minutes. I just got away from him.

Me: Really? *squints at him* Really, you just put that on the table? *giggling*

Hubs: Dang.

Me: You continue to be sooooo bloggable. *falls back into a coma*

Needless to say, once I was up and at ’em again, my favorite word has been “wood.” My favorite question: “Was it the guy with the wood again?”

And just to keep y’all as entertained as I am, here’s a site that “specializes in wood”:

Pen Island Pens (Thanks, Jay Donovan!) — they had me before I read a word (see URL).
http://www.penisland.net/

There is innuendo and wood all over that site. If I had more energy, I’d be giggling my face off, blogging about it. Since I don’t, I’ll just keep trucking and encourage one of you to pick it up and run with the wood. If you know what I mean…

*slips back into sinus and double-middle-ear-infection coma*

Do you have a ‘word of the week’ (and if so, what is it)? How do you like mine? What’s the strangest URL (that’s web address for my tech-challenged) you’ve ever encountered? Enquiring minds love to know these things here at More Cowbell!

~ Jenny

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! An extrovert who's terribly fond of silliness. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestormblog.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in Humor and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to The Word of the Week is ‘Wood’

  1. K.B. Owen says:

    Ugh, sinus infections are the worst. I’m so sorry you’re going through that. I used to get them a lot, and usually as a result of allergies. Whenever we visited my mother-in-law (sadly, she’s no longer with us) at her house in Virginia Beach, my allergies would always act up. (Mold, I think). I was sure to develop a sinus infection within a week of the visit. I started planning ahead.

    Loved your story, and the Pen Island URL! I thought I’d share a scene from my favorite show, “The Big Bang Theory.” It “plays around” with that very term. This should brighten your day, Jenny! Feel better soon!

    Like

    • OMG, K.B! This is my favorite show, too.

      And, look! If we post episodes from the show, poor Jenny in her sick bed might come to love them, too. Bonus! It’s a blogjack kind of day on More Cowbell.

      Failure to launch TBBT is one of the few downsides I see not owning a television.

      Off to find one of my own. Later!

      Like

  2. I too have seen questionable signage in Missouri. Coming into the state from Oklahoma on I-44, at the first exit was a sign advertising for locally produced pies; not mass-produced, but the kind made individually in a domicile. The spelling of the sign however, called to mind another… “older” profession. We didn’t stop to sample the “HOMADE PIES”.😀

    Like

  3. What happens when Glo Jean Castleberry decides to search for a BBT outtake to post on Jenny Jo’s blog?

    Aforementioned Glo Jean Castleberry spends ninety minutes searching for a particular episode and happens upon all manner of BBT clips that occupy her far past the time allocated to social media. I no longer remember which of those clips I copied to paste.

    When you get well, do yourself a favor, Google Wallowitz and the Mechanical Hand. Report back to me via blog.🙂

    SO sorry you’re sick, Jenny.

    I bebopped over to PenisLand.com [WHAT were they thinking?], and have decided I would rather work writerly magic with Fresh Water Wood(ies) than either virgin (too inexperienced) or vintage barn wood (potential wood(ie) rot). And, YKWIM.

    Go back to night-night, now. Get well.

    Like

  4. filbio says:

    Knowing you I really thought this was going to be a post about “Morning Wood”.

    Hope you get well soon. My gal has the same thing and has been sick all week.

    Oh, and I love the Big Bang Theory too!

    Like

  5. Oh no! Sinus infections can bring you down to your knees. And on vacation? Nothing worse. You must be dragging your butt through Missouri. Well drag it on home girlfriend. Nothing better than your own bed when you’re sick. I hope you feel better soon! I’m sending germ free hugs!🙂

    Like

  6. Glad to know you haven’t lost your ‘touch’ even with a sinus infection! Now, I gotta go stack some wood.🙂

    Like

  7. amyskennedy says:

    Awww. Hope you feel better soon. We need you! But, we want you rested and healthy girl.

    Like

  8. LOL I feel as though I watched that dialogue on TV—such a keeper! I’ve decided that my word of the week is sparkle. May we all be “the woman with the sparkle.”😉

    I hope you’re feeling lots better! *healthy soup* *spa day*

    Like

Comments are closed.