20 Posts To Ring Your Cowbell

DYAC-ThongsIn honor of yesterday’s Undie Chronicle, we really need this graphic from Damn You AutoCorrect!

p.s. Y’all were a stitch in yesterday’s comments (rocket launchers and all).

More Cowbell wouldn’t be half so fun without all of you, and we have some newcomers in our midst. For Techie Tuesday, and in honor of the newbies, I’m starting with the “Best of the Best at More Cowbell.”

After those, you’ll get 10 more Links that Rocked My World.🙂

Have you ever wondered what achieved the highest hits ever on this blog?

These 10 Posts…

  1. Are You Fighting Dirty?
  2. Using The 12 Stages of Physical Intimacy To Build Tension In Your Novel
  3. 5 Important Things I Learned Teaching Autistic Kids
  4. Why Do Pregnant Women Get SO Much Heartburn?
  5. The Undie Chronicles: An Epilogue…”Man-Style”
  6. 10 Creative Ways To Express Your “Inner F-Bomb”
  7. Do Writers Need Presentation Skills?
  8. A Love Letter To My Teachers
  9. Ten Computer Phrases that Sound Dirty But Aren’t
  10. Do Writers Read Differently Than Non-Writers?

Below are the most intriguing posts I’ve found so far this month:

I freaking loved Super Bowl Science 2013 from Slate. Tons of fantastic geekery in here.

And for the bloggers…

Nina Amir’s posts will set your inner blog-geek aquiver. She offers tons of great insight, such as Barbara Wilson Arboleta’s post on Writing and Self-Publishing a Book Based on a Blog.

Speaking of blogging, Daniel Sharkov gives us 8 Not-So Obvious Ways to Make More Out of Your Blog Posts. Also by Daniel is 4 Simple Ways to Make Your Next Blog Post Just a Little more Shareable.

And if you’re a social media junkie, you should know that Google + overtook Twitter as ‘world’s second biggest social network‘ (by Digital Strategy Consulting).

And for my fellow read-a-holics…

What Kind of Book Reader Are You? A Diagnostics Guide from the Atlantic Wire. Also, PLEASE: No More Insulting Classic Book Covers For Teen Girls by Zoe Triska was extremely thought provoking.

Last but not least, here’s a few presents for the writers among us:

RT Book Reviews did a rather depressing wrap-up of the Top-Selling Books of 2012. Really? This is what Americans bought more than anything else?

In addition, they did this post last May on the February AAP Book Sales Report. Why did I include such an old post? Look at the graphic at the bottom. It will send my indie YA pals into a joy-fest.

And finally, I offer you 9 Ways To Beat Writer’s Block from TheEnglishWeb.com.

What amazing links and news do you have to share? How many of those “More Cowbell Top 10” have you already seen? What’s exciting in your life today? Enquiring minds always want to know these things here at More Cowbell!

Jenny

Reminder: WANACon is two weeks from this Friday!

Details:
Registration is now open for WANACon, an entirely online writer’s conference (including the opportunity to book appointments with agents). The conference runs February 22 to February 23, and you can register for one day or both. I’m scheduled to teach at the end of Day 1 at 8 pm EST…I hope you’ll be there.🙂

Click here to register for both days.
Click here to register for Day 1.
Click here to register for Day 2.

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! An extrovert who's terribly fond of silliness. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestormblog.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in Blogging, Social Media, Techie Tuesday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to 20 Posts To Ring Your Cowbell

  1. I saw those top-selling books. Yikes. Should I just stop writing now?😉

    Like

  2. amyskennedy says:

    It didn’t suprise me. And remember, those were the top selling–how about the next 50 titles, hmm? You just write what is burning inside you to get out. If it’s the next 50 Shades, great, if it’s the next Love in the Time of Cholera, great. The point is to write. I say Bravo (and Brava) to those authors for, clearly, hitting the button with readers!

    Like

  3. You’ve got quite a diverse list on your top ten posts Jenny. Your mind is all over the place. Yet, who of us aren’t like that? You keep us hopping and I love it! But I must say that I feel a bit like Renee a. Schuls-Jacobsson. I don’t know why I bother sometimes. But I keep plugging away. I am getting my stuff together so that I am ready this time for Fast Draft. And I am going to kill it! I have to. I have got to get this novel completed. Then on to the next. And then the next. Ah, there is no rest for the wicked! lol. 🙂

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Yep, my mind tends to wander from week to week.

      And I know why you bother…you have stories to tell! I can’t wait to see you kill the March Fast Draft. You deserve a nice break to wallow in your fiction.🙂

      Like

  4. Thanks, again, Jenny, for another informative post! Ring that bell!

    Like

  5. Wow, what riches in one blog post! Yeah, the top selling books kind of bum me out. I’m like you, really? Seriously? But I’ve been writing for a LONG time and periodically I have to center myself and realize that all I can do is write the stories I’d like to read. Cause I spend a LOT of time with those people. LOL And if I can’t love them and the story, then it’s just not worth it. So I write what makes me happy and readers either like it or not.

    Like

  6. I couldn’t comment on the f-bomb post so had to tell you a quick story about a friend. Her sister decided she wasn’t going to swear anymore. I was…surprised. I asked my friend, what does she say when she gets angry. She doesn’t get mad, my friend said. It’s not worth it if she can’t swear. LOL!

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      I always forget that I close comments on the older posts. Sorry about that…it cuts down on spam.

      I cannot imagine forgoing the tantrum, just because I couldn’t swear! I can see having the mad last a little longer, but not forgoing the tantrum altogether. She’s got serious control!

      Like

  7. So much good reading to do. Thanks for all these links!

    Like

  8. filbio says:

    Thanks for listing these links! Looks like a few I might find interesting!

    Phil
    http://www.blog.theregularguynyc.com

    Like

  9. RING-A-DING-DING! That might not be too cowbellish … just want to say thanks for these excellent links and all the laughs yesterday. Have a great weekend, Jenny!

    Like

  10. Your website shows me as an email follower, but I never receive the email announcements. I’ve unfollowed and refollowed several times. Don’t know WTF. Found you through Triberr this time.

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Well, how RUDE of WordPress. I appreciate you taking the effort to do that. I wonder if you need to add me to your “yes” list in your email. It sounds like it’s sending me to Junk mail.😦

      Like

Comments are closed.