Y is for Yes: DO Catch Your Kids On Video

Photo from Babearz.com

Welcome to Risky Baby Business here at More Cowbell. We talk about moms and babies every Saturday over here, particularly those of the high-risk variety. If you want to catch up on the previous posts in this series, click here.

As parents, one of the things my hubby and I would go back and do differently is record our baby’s daily moments.

Sure, we have snippets here and there, but there are a million things we missed getting on video and the older our daughter gets the more we regret it.

I think the final straw for this was when some friends offered to record her baptism and accidentally overwrote the tape. To this day, it makes me physically ill to think of all the photos and moments from that day that were lost.

I just came across the video below the other day and it’s amazing.

The mother shot video of her daughter, Lotte, every week for the first 12 years of her life and then spliced a few seconds at a time together. The result is this video that runs under three minutes.


Do you videotape the important moments in your life or do you rely on photographs? Are there things you wish you’d done to organize your memories better? Or special ways that you’ve gathered your memories that you’d like to share? Enquiring minds love  to know these things here at More Cowbell!

Jenny

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! An extrovert who's terribly fond of silliness. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestormblog.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in Inspiration, Parenting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Y is for Yes: DO Catch Your Kids On Video

  1. We often tend to become lax at videotaping our kids but, as you say, later on those videos are priceless. We now show video of our children to our grandchildren and they think it’s a riot! Love the idea in the video here. Thanks for the reminder!

    Like

  2. sharkbytes says:

    I actually watched that , although I skip most videos due to slow connection speed. How interesting! We did not have video capability when ours were growing up, but have some tapes of the youngest one wrestling in competition. I’m trying to visit all the A-Z Challenge Blogs this month. My alphabet is at myqualityday.blogspot.com

    Like

  3. We’re dinosaurs, LOL. I do not have a single video of any of the boys. (I don’t even have a video from my wedding.) I do, however, have more photographs than is likely sane. I am the ultimate paparazzi mum, LOL. Heaven help me if we ever have to leave the house in a hurry because it would likely take me a day to load all the scrapbooks, photo albums, and loose photos not yet backed up digitally.

    Like

  4. We bought a videocamera 20 years ago to record vacations. After watching them once or twice, we forgot about them. We took several videos when our first grandson was born, but, once again, after we watched them a time or two, we put them away in a drawer and forgot about them. By the time the 2nd and 3rd grandsons were born we knew we were wasting our time.

    We also have bulging albums and folders filled with photos we never look at. Maybe we’re just weird.

    Like

  5. S. J. Maylee says:

    what a cool idea. I took pictures for both of my boys (now 5 and 2) every month their first year and the comparisons are pretty cute. We take pictures a lot and video sometimes too. I think the boys enjoy looking at the memories as much as we do.

    Like

  6. Reetta Raitanen says:

    It’s such a treasure when you have regular pictures of your kids. I’ve never been much of a video person but I try to snap regular photos of the kids. A great habit that has gotten lax since they were tiny. Life is busy with toddler twins. And these days if the kids see I’m holding the camera, they won’t hold still and want to snap their own shots.

    Like

Comments are closed.