Happy New Year to Team #ROW80!

It’s a new year and a new page in terms of goals. We’ve been talking a lot about celebrating the milestones here at More Cowbell lately because it is so very hard to do. Like so many of you, I have a hard time stopping to smell the flowers on the way to THE BIG GOAL.

Here’s what I learned about myself during ROW80 last year:

  1. Page goals defeat me. They scare me and discourage me and feel like “a job.”
  2. Timed sprints are incredibly productive for me. They’re like a game of “how much can I write in 30 minutes? 40 minutes? An hour? I knock my page goals out of the stratosphere this way.
  3. I’ll find a gajillion things that are more important to do than exercise. When really NOTHING is more important to my health. This round, I’m going to have to find an exercise accountability partner…anyone game? I’ve also enrolled in yoga classes with a friend of mine, so accountability should make me go.
  4. I like to blog more than I like to write on my current WIP. Part of this is that I’m to the place I don’t like where I’ve got to poke around in dark corners of grief, rather than the funny stuff I love to write. Still, it must be said so this pregnancy memoir can be done already. So, I began my Saturday series, Risky Baby Business. RBB lets me blog out my research and some of the places in the book where I needed to formulate my thoughts. Plus, it has the added bonus of letting me hear amazing stories from all of you.

Keeping the above in mind, here are my Round 1 Row80 goals:

  • Get at least one exercise accountability partner for this round. (3+ if lucky)
  • ROCK my ROW80 Sponsorship duties! My bio and post are turned in, now it’s up to me to encourage all of you at least once a week.
  • No matter how many word sprints I engage in each week, at least TWO must be dedicated to my work in progress.
  • That being said, my goal is at least 4 times sprints per week. If I can’t find a sprint partner at #ROW80, I’m going to defect and run over to #wordmongering.

Most of my other goals are covered in my Life List, but these are the areas where I have the most trouble and I’m never going to get to my BIG goals if I don’t do these particular Baby Steps.

Have you posted your goals anywhere yet? You could just do a blog post, or create a ROW80 page on your blog. You could also join the Life List Club and make a page for that. If you’re posting goals to the ROW80 Linky, click here. (That’s also where you go to encourage everyone else in their  goals.🙂 )

What lessons have you learned about what helps or hinders you in your goals? What is your BIG KAHUNA goal for 2012? Enquiring minds always  want to know here at More Cowbell!

Jenny

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! An extrovert who's terribly fond of silliness. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestormblog.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in Team #ROW80, Writing Challenge and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

27 Responses to Happy New Year to Team #ROW80!

  1. Getting back into walking after time change and broken toe are on my ROW goals, LOL. I hear you on the exercise!!! And I’ll sprint with you at least once a week, if we can plan a set time ahead of time🙂

    Good luck Jenny, I know you’ll rock the sponsorship!

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Oooh, Raelyn, I’d love that!!

      Wednesdays are almost always my best time but I have a software rollout going on for the next two weeks. However, starting on 1/18, I can sprint as many times on Wednesdays as you want (because I have babysitting that day without going into the office…smartest thing I ever did!!).

      Like

  2. Ryan King says:

    Excellent review of the previous round. I like to self-evaluate too. So what’s your exercise goals (yoga or otherwise)? I bet you’ll be a great sponsor. Good luck!

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Thanks, Ryan! And thanks for reminding me that I didn’t exactly quantify those. I’m going to meet the goal of getting accountability partners and THEN I will put out the goal. Promise.

      Like

  3. I love how much you know about yourself. I have recently found out that if I just sit down and open up my WIP, that I get lots accomplished. I don’t think #wordmongering or #1k1hr is defecting–I think that’s using all the tools at your disposal!! I love word sprints, but as I’m writing and revising as I go, word sprints aren’t in my best interest. I need to SLOOOW down.🙂

    I’ve posted my goals on my blog, and am excited to ROW this round!! Good luck with your goals. I’ll let you know if I’m up for some word sprints!!

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Heather, I think it’s all about knowing yourself when it comes to writing. We all have to trick ourselves into things here and there. The harder part is giving yourself permission to not be perfect. That is hard for me and a gajillion other writers.

      Congrats on posting your goals! Thanks for stopping by and encouraging me. I’m at Twitter @jhansenwrites. Tag me when you want to sprint.

      Like

  4. Glad to have someone experienced to cheer us newbies. I am sure we can use all the cheering/motivation that’s given by sponsors members.
    I liked how you analyzed and learned from the past round you participated. It’s really enlightening to see how a certain goal that might work for some doesn’t work for others, and how it’s not clear until we try them.
    Like you, I also added some exercise goals, but I decided to keep in with ROW80, because I know my lack of exercise affects my energy/stress levels and inhibits me doing the projects I want. Nothing worse than getting home super tired from work/required activities and not doing something to nurture my soul.

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Edjane, how nice to meet you! Welcome to the ROW and do please tag me with any questions you have. If you send me a note in Twitter @jhansenwrites, I’ll follow you so we can direct message any questions. All the sponsors will do this for you.🙂

      Like

  5. Fabio Bueno says:

    Thank you, Jenny, for your incentive and yout tips! I’m a first-timer ROW80 participant, but I already feel energized by people like you!

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Fabio, I’m SO proud of you for jumping right into ROW80. I was surprised by how much it pushed my writing along and I think you will be too. The first round or so is often about finding out what DOESN’T work so be patient with yourself and enjoy!

      Like

  6. Hey Jenny! Nice to see you again!
    “I’ll find a gajillion things that are more important to do than exercise” HAHAHAHA That’s so me! I didn’t add an exercise goal because last round I had an injury on my foot. I’m exercising now, but I’m afraid to get injured again, so I won’t jinx it by putting it as a goal again lol
    I love sprints too! Hopefully, we’ll be able to go for some together😉
    Good luck!

    Like

  7. Jen Talty says:

    I know what you mean about page goals. I gave up on word count and page goals a long time ago, although I track progress with word count. I actually use a timer. I’m blocking off 4 hours each day to writing. Generally it’s 2 hours in the morning and 2 hours at night. Often I go over at night. Some days I write 1 page, other days its 5 pages, and sometimes I’m crank out 20+ pages. The point is my brain is in my WIP every day. That is key for me.

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      I use a timer too, Jen. I bought one of those with 3 timers in one so I can write and bake at the same time when called to. It’s fabulous. I’ve also used two at a time when I sprint with multiple people so I get dinged when it’s time to check in, and it lets me write longer without having to remember anything. (What can I say…I’m a Sprint Slut.🙂 )

      I’m so impressed with the 4 hours. I don’t have that many hours yet, but if I start selling, I’ll quit the 25 hour/week job and devote that time to writing.

      Like

  8. Yeah, I get you on the whole exercising thing and the blogging more than writing thing. Editing just isn’t as much fun as the brochure made it out to be. Still, it needs to be done or this book won’t get published. Good on you for your goals! I’ve set some for my writing and I always love to read what you ROW80ers are up to. One of these days you’ll get me to join, don’t you fret. Until then, I’ll keep on cheering you and being inspired by all that you do.

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      I’ve got my eye on you, Tameri and I will be dragging you onto the ROW some day.🙂

      I’m glad you’re setting some goals and I ALWAYS appreciate the encouragement!

      Like

  9. Big Kahuna Goal for 2012: Produce a magnificent and polished draft of my novel and try to SELL it🙂

    Like

  10. Marcia says:

    Jenny, you’re welcome to join me in my Health Challenge! Your enthusiasm and humor would be a huge benefit! Exercise challenges can be tailored to whatever works for you/us. I can use all the exercise partners I can get to keep me accountable, as well as anyone who wants in for a healthy eating challenge!
    I’m in this challenge for a total of, at least, 13 months (12/1/11 – 12/12/12). But partners can choose any length of time they want.
    This is my Big Kahuna goal: being fit, once and for all, by my 60th b’day-12/12/12. Also getting my short story anthology and the first of my novels published.
    Good luck with you reachable goals in ROW80!

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      OK, tell me more about the Health challenge. I basically want to lose 20 pounds and I don’t know yet what will accomplish that. I used to know exactly what yielded weight loss for me but I’ve never been my age and had a baby before so it’s all uncharted. I don’t know yet what works. I just know I need to start somewhere.

      Like

  11. I discovered that I need really specific goals or else I figure out ways to weasel out of them. I also need tons of accountability because I like to let life get in the way. Sometimes that is unavoidable but I don’t need to hold the door for it, right?🙂 I really love timed sprints too, and I can’t wait to do some when I am in my writing phase. It sounds like you learned some important things about yourself and are ready to ROCK this round! Good luck!

    Like

  12. Howdy, Jenny! You have great goals to focus on this time around. I also love that you reflected on what worked (or had issues) before. I did that and feel like I’m approaching my goals/myself much more on level ground. Like stuff is doable now because it fits better, if that makes sense.

    Exercise is a steady ROW goal of mine and I’d love to stalk (cough) um, be an accountability buddy. You can poke at me too when I’m muttering about the cold and snow in my area and how it has stopped me from even driving by the gym, but not by the movie theater. Heh.

    Like

  13. Lena Corazon says:

    Oh boy, I’ve decided that I need to actually take my exercise goal seriously this round as well – my hope is 4-5 times each week, doing something for 20-30 minutes. I am always up for some accountability poking and prodding.😀

    One thing that I’ve learned about myself is that I am much more inclined to sit down and work on my WIP than I am to work on my day job research, so I need to get better about prioritizing that.

    Great list of goals, Jenny! So happy to see you back this round!

    Like

  14. Julie Glover says:

    If you still need exercise accountability, I could use someone to kick my butt into gear too. I really need to find a challenge or activity that I love doing, so it won’t feel like so much work. (Too bad Piper isn’t here to teach me belly-dancing!)

    I’m thrilled to be sponsoring too, but it’s my first time out. I’m jealous that you already submitted your post. It’s on my to-do list to polish mine up. My Big Kahuna goals are to write another novel and to be more involved as a parent. I’m involved in certain areas, but at other times I can get focused on projects, look up, and realize that my children are four hours older and zombified from video gaming.

    Like

  15. Ruth Nestvold says:

    My goals are still vague for this round, since at the moment I’m totally caught up in learning how to promote ebooks — which is turning into a full-time job! Sometimes I wonder if I’m ever going to have any time to write something new again …

    I *can* do the writing when I sit down to it (if I don’t have some other task breathing down my neck), but I totally agree that the sprints are great fun! I got so much more written during those than I would have imagined.

    And as to exercise … sigh. At least I walk a lot … Maybe a couple of us should partner up to keep each other accountable on that score.🙂

    Happy New Year to you too!

    Like

  16. Pingback: Goals 2012 | JessicaAspenWrites

Comments are closed.