More Cowbell Mash-up #4: The Holiday Hangover

It’s Monday and time for another fun-filled More Cowbell Mash-up, right?

Not so much…Today, I’m feeling pretty mashed up, so we’re going with “Mash-up Lite.”

Yesterday was my baby girl’s first Easter and we were in hot demand. I guess I should clarify…the BABY was in hot demand. My husband and I were the chauffeurs, diaper changers and feeders that allowed that little girl to be present and to keep the good mood rolling through several parties.

It’s not like anyone ignored us or starved us. We were certainly made welcome but doing holidays with a fun little person is like having your BFF be the most gorgeous person in town: when you go out with them, everyone’s eyes sort of slide over you in a hurry to get to the one you’re with (in this case, the baby).

Don’t get me wrong…we chose to pack so much into the day because babies are little for such a short time. And let’s face it, baby anything is nearly always adorable – cats, dogs, humans. It’s just a major amount of work to pack into 24 hours before getting up for work the next day.

The amount of food and items to go into the car for a whirlwind day of holiday parties is daunting. I used to worry that I was a baby pack-rat, a keepaholic who carted too much munchkin crapola until I asked around and found out ALL first time parents do this. (I’m starting to think we’re all lunatics.)

In reality, I could just give her a Gatorade bottle with a few sips left and she’d be happy for hours. I try to remember that and keep a little perspective when I pile up the baby gear for my husband to schlep to the car.

So, on this day after Easter, when my honey and I are exhausted and dragging it behind us, I bring you some easy online versions of my favorite after-Easter recipes to let you easily recycle that ham, turkey, potato salad and the ever-present EGGS.

Neighbor Nancy’s Hard Boiled Egg Recipes
After Easter Layered Salad
Day After Easter Soup Recipe (this one made my mouth water)

Lots of great recipes on this site but the one I’ll be trying this week is:

After Easter Quiche

INGREDIENTS:

  • 1 cup each ham and cooked asparagus, chopped
  • 1 cup grated cheddar cheese
  • 3 hard cooked eggs (left over Easter eggs, of course), chopped
  • 1/2 cup green onion, chopped
  • 1 cup milk
  • 3 eggs
  • 1 TBSP salad mustard
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 unbaked 9″ deep dish pie shell

DIRECTIONS:

  1. Toss together the ham, asparagus, cheese, hard cooked eggs, and green onions.
  2. Place in pie shell.
  3. Beat together the eggs, milk, mustard, salt and pepper.
  4. Pour over other ingredients to fill the shell.
  5. Bake in a 350 deg oven about on hour or until puffed and brown.
  6. Serve hot.

I’d love to know how YOUR holiday weekend went, whether it was Easter, Passover or Earth Day celebrations. And what is your favorite trick to dress up and re-engineer your holiday leftovers?

Don’t forget, between now and May 17th, everyone who leaves a comment I will put your name in a hat for the “Let’s Meet Up” Contest. If you comment and link back to my blog on your blog, you get your name in the hat twice. 

Everyone who does not win a spot in the May webinar will be entered in the June webinar. Same thing for July. There are forty-five spots for the taking and I want to see one of them go to everyone who wants one.

See you tomorrow for Techie Tuesday!
Jenny

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! An extrovert who's terribly fond of silliness. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestormblog.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in More Cowbell and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to More Cowbell Mash-up #4: The Holiday Hangover

  1. amyshojai says:

    Our “mash up” was tornado-esque winds and weather. Hubby had made dinner ahead of time so luckily that was fine. And the weather didn’t hit until AFTER the 2 church services (breakfast in between).

    Not having “human” kids, I still relate to your comments. When socializing our new pup, I took the Magical-Dawg everywhere and yep–he was the darling. At least he won’t want keys to a new car on his 16th B-day…well, he might, but he ain’t getting any!

    Like

Comments are closed.