“Let’s Meet Up” Contest

Thursday’s have traditionally been dedicated to the world of dating here at More Cowbell but I’m going to shake things up this week.

We’re going to have a contest!

Thinking about what sort of contest I could offer, the obvious answer was: share my software trainer expertise.

Soooooooooooooooo….

I’m going to give away a webinar per month for the next three months. Yep, that’s right. Free training from the software trainer for one hour on the third Saturday of May, June and July. No strings attached.

I’ve received a lot of questions about Microsoft Word, Twitter, WordPress, Blogger, Social Oomph and Tweet Deck so I know these are tools that are challenging my writing, blogging, Facebook, LinkedIn and Twitter pals.

Contest Prize Overview 

The best part: YOU will pick the topics through your comments. The most popular topics each month will dictate the agenda for that month’s webinar. If you don’t see the topic you want gaining ground, comment on a different blog and make your case. I flat-out love software and teaching so I’m in for just about anything (though I have to draw the line at programming).

May – Webinar on May 21st – Topics and winners to be announced by Tuesday, May 17th

June – Webinar on June 25th – Topics and winners to be announced by Tuesday, June 21st

July – Webinar on July 23rd – Topics and winners to be announced by Tuesday, July 19th

In the spirit of Kristen Lamb, my mentor and goddess of all things Social Media, here are THE OFFICIAL RULES:

Between now and May 17th, everyone who leaves a comment I will put your name in a hat. If you comment and link back to my blog on your blog, you get your name in the hat twice. Everyone who does not win a spot in the May webinar will be entered in the June webinar. Same thing for July.

There are forty-five spots for the taking and I want to see one of them go to everyone who wants one.

What topic would you like to spend an hour learning?

About Jenny Hansen

Avid seeker of "more"...More words, more creativity, More Cowbell! An extrovert who's terribly fond of silliness. Founding blogger at Writers In The Storm (http://writersinthestormblog.com). Write on!
This entry was posted in Contest and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to “Let’s Meet Up” Contest

  1. amyshojai says:

    Great idea! I am soooooooooo gonna share this!

    Like

  2. Hi Jenny–what a great opportunity to learn!
    My younger writer buddies have convinced me I must have a “platform”, so I’ve been dragged, kicking and screaming, into the tech age and blogging, tweeting, bleeting–whatever. I am so inept at it all. Umm-how do I link back from my blog to yours??

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Hi Sandra!

      Thanks for the comment – that’s one vote for Twitter.🙂

      I don’t know that I understood the angst people were having until I started writing blogs on the subject and it is a definite area of pain for a lot of writers.

      As far as the linking, find any blog that would merit a mention in your blog and go up to the address bar at the top of the screen (it will say something like https://jennyhansenauthor.wordpress.com/….). Click on that address and it will turn blue, right mouse click to choose copy. Go to the place in your blog where you want to make the reference and in your post window in Blogspot, click the button with the picture of the world with a chain link. Paste the address there. That means when people read your blog and click the link, they will come to my blog.

      Isn’t that magic?

      Jenny

      Like

  3. Hi Jenny,

    Great idea. I still scratch my head over fb. There’s never enough time for me to figure out all the ways to use it to its max. I’d love something that covered the key features.

    DSWS seems to be off and running on Twitter. Good job.

    Like

    • Jenny Hansen says:

      Thanks for the comment, @cleemckenzie (go follow her, y’all)! I’ll put a vote in for Facebook. That is awesome that you’ve got Twitter under your belt.

      I’ve had a lot of fun interacting with all my writer’s groups…such a special bunch of people populating my world right now.

      Tuesdays are techie days here at More Cowbell so I hope to see you then!

      Like

  4. Hi Jenny,

    Awesome contest! I Definitely need twitter help. One thing I can’t figure out is how to re-tweet & add a comment at the same time. It’s been driving me nuts. I’m also confused about lists, proper use of hash tags & general etiquette. Also – I just joined LinkedIn yesterday, so I’m still trying to work my way around there as well. Most importantly, I want to learn more about how all of these social network sites interact and whether or not I want them to.

    Thanks for helping out all us techno-challenged folks🙂 I will most definitely share this contest on my blog.

    Like

  5. Hey, Jenny, I vote for Twitter (lists, especially!). Thanks! : )

    Like

Comments are closed.